Join San and other amazing souls as we make our way through #NaBloPoMo! More information about this great initiative can be found here!

Happy Monday, readers! Inspired by J’s post, on Sunday night I took my phone, opened the camera app, roamed around the house and snapped pictures of some objects we have in the house. I wasn’t overthinking it, just kept snapping- and below is what I ended up photographing. These are in no particular order and there are no pre-determined connections among the objects except that all the objects made me think of something or someone. Many are prints and paintings, and some were acquired through travels or were gifts.

Three art pieces. Location: guest room. Bought: in Udaipur in 2014
R’s book shelf. Made by T. Location: R’s room
Cat clock. A gift from T, many Christmases ago. Location: kitchen.
WWII navigation map, with constellations. Belonged to T’s grandfather. Location: dining room.
Cat painting. Bought in Argentina in 2017. Location: R’s room.
A painting by Scott Lobaido. Given to T as payment back in… 2009? Location: living room. Size: ceiling to floor. It’s huge.
My dresser. Made by T. A Christmas gift, 2021. Location: master bedroom
A black-and-white print of my dad and I (I am three). Brought from Russia. Location: second floor landing.
Original fireplace tiles that we framed before remodeling the fireplace. Location: dining room. The house was built in 1933.
Jacuzzi tub. Location: master bathroom. We use it rarely and only on bad days 😉
Back yard. Not an object IN the house but still my absolute favorite place. Especially in the fall.
A print from an artist in Užupis, Vilnius, Lithuania. Travelled there with Dad in 2013. Location: living room
Probably my most favorite room – dining room. This is where we have Thanksgiving, birthdays, and sometimes just regular dinners. This is the room that has not yet been destroyed by children. Although our cat did throw up and pooped on this white carpet a few times.

I could keep going because I am on the nostalgia train and the train has left the station. But I’ll wrap it up here. How about you? Any objects that you wish to share?


23 responses to “NaBloPoMo day 6: House”

  1. Nicole MacPherson Avatar

    Oh Daria, I love this peek in your home! It’s so cozy and delightful, and the artwork is just lovely. I love all the children’s artwork displayed alongside the other artwork and your photo of you and your dad. Your son’s bookshelf reminds me so much of the one in my elementary school, of all things! What a memory that evoked. Your dining room is gorgeous. Thanks for taking me on a tour!

    Like

    1. Daria Avatar

      Thank you so much for your kind words. We love our house albeit it’s old and can be drafty 🙂

      Like

  2. Elisabeth Avatar

    I LOVE getting a look inside people’s homes and yours is gorgeous (I’m always in awe of the exterior – it looks so grand and just…perfect!). Love all the art, especially that cat clock. How whimsical and fun! And I agree with Nicole – your dining room is stunning ❤

    I’d love to have more inside tours!!!!

    Like

  3. NGS Avatar
    NGS

    What a lovely home you have. I am envious of your bathroom.

    Also, this is a brilliant idea for a post! I might borrow it!

    Like

  4. Tobia | craftaliciousme Avatar

    I love how much art you have in your house. It is something I always want to do and haven’t.
    The tiles you saved are really cool. I love blue and white art works.

    Also that back yard view. Amazing. And it is a bit similar to my view. But you have more tree variety.

    Like

  5. Sarah Avatar

    That picture of you and your dad– so cool! Love this tour

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Suzanne Avatar

    Oh my goodness, these are all such beautiful pieces! I adore the range of styles and subjects, and wow that photo of you and your dad is so beautiful! The navigation map, too, wow!!!! And your backyard and dining room are both so gorgeous — I can see why you love them so much.

    Like

  7. Coco Avatar

    when did you go to argentina?????? you know that I grew up there right? ahahaha….

    I love that you love cats! I don’t have any cat pic at home, maybe I’ll ask Sofia to make one with her art teacher.

    Like

    1. Daria Avatar

      Back in 2017 I lived in Chile for 6 months and took the advantage to visit Argentina while I was there. An hour flight!

      Like

  8. home here and there Avatar

    We used to have the cat clock in the kitchen as well – it died on us a while back though. I love all the art. When we moved to our house we inherited a giant Van Gogh print in the dining room everyone compliments us about.

    Like

  9. J Avatar

    I love this peek in your house! I am especially fond of the Ganesh print, and the art from Argentina, and the tiles, and the photo of you and your dad, and yeah, that Dining Room is #GOALS. I’d need a new house to manage that. I adore an older home, the charm and feel of them. My husband wants something new with no issues. We live in a townhome built in 1979 that has plenty of issues, so neither of us get what we want, sadly.

    Like

    1. Daria Avatar

      Thank you! When we bought this 1933 house back in 2014, the drywall wasn’t really drywall but this hardened “paste” that had horse hair mixed in lol Charming!

      Like

  10. San Avatar

    Thanks so much for sharing a peek into your home. I am always curious about the spaces others live in 🙂 you have some wonderful, meaningful pieces of art in your house! And you backyard is beautiful.. esp. this time of year with the changing color of the leaves!

    Like

    1. Daria Avatar

      Me, too. Sometimes, when we take walks, you can see a bit into people’s windows 🙂

      Like

  11. Noemi Avatar

    Oh, I love this idea! And all the things your shared. That backyard photo is amazing. And that kids’ bookshelf is so fun and colorful. I am inspired to do something like this too. Hopefully later this week. Thank you for sharing!!!

    Like

    1. Daria Avatar

      Please do Noemi! I’d love to see 🙂

      Like

  12. Lisa’s Yarns Avatar

    I love this! It was fun to see what picture books you own. We love the Bruce books! You have so much art and so many mementos! We have, well, next to none. I have some framed photos from my travels but not a ton as Phil prefers a more minimalist look. I love your dining room!! And that pic of you and your dad! And wow T is super talented!!!

    Like

  13. Stephany Avatar

    I don’t know if I can pick a favorite thing from this collection! I mean, the kitty cat clock is AMAZING but then I am drooling over that Jacuzzi tub… but then that photo of you and your dad… but then all the other artwork! Ahhh. I love it all so much!

    Like

  14. Melissa Avatar

    The photo of you and your dad is so precious. Love that you kept some tiles from the old fireplace too. You have such a great collection of things here. Lovely dining room, isn’t it wonderful to have one room that stays nice.

    Like

  15. Grateful Kae Avatar

    This is so cool! You have some really awesome items in your home. How did you get that big painting home from Argentina? Or was it just the print and rolled up and you framed it at home? Also love the back yard. So great. And keeping the tile…SUCH a neat idea!!

    Like

    1. Irena Avatar
      Irena

      Such a beautiful neat home! Thank you so much for sharing with us! I love all the wall art! Argentina has long been a dream country to visit! I have had a few close friends from Argentina and have always been fascinated by the culture!

      Like

  16. A Look At My Favourite Thrifted Art Pieces – The Optimistic Musings of a Pessimist Avatar

    […] Inspired by Daria’s post, I thought I’d take a little tour around our home and highlight some thrifted art (I’d say this is just under half the thrifted pieces in our home?). […]

    Like

  17. Around the house – Home here and there Avatar

    […] wrote about her favorite thrifted art pieces and she got inspired by Daria’s house tour who in turn had the idea after J’s blog post about house decor. Sorry, if there are […]

    Like

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.